GEMPAmelayu

Icon

memores acti prudentes futuri

Tengku Ryo is Malay Phenomena!

Ketengah laut tongkang dikayuh
Dikayuh oleh nelayan Lingga
Darilah hilir hingga ke hulu
Satulah wahai bangsa Melayu

Macam buloh panjang bersekat
Darilah pangkal sampai ke pucuk
Boleh tanah bersekat batas
Resam Melayu satulah nafas

tengku_ryo

Padi dituai menjadi jerami
Jerami menjadi sarang tekukur
Kepada Allah kami bersyukur
Tetaplah Melayu menjadi makmur

Sungguhlah jauh bumi dan langit
Langit terhampar menjadi payung
Baiklah sama kita menjunjung
Resam Melayu adat serumpun

Ketengah laut tongkang dikayuh
Dikayuh oleh nelayan Lingga
Darilah hilir hingga ke hulu
Satulah wahai bangsa Melayu

Macam buloh panjang bersekat
Darilah pangkal sampai ke pucuk
Boleh tanah bersekat batas
Resam Melayu satulah nafas

I have not seen him life neither in tv. I just stumbled upon his site after visiting melayuonline, and walla! I met Tengku Ryo! I bet if  you go to his site www.themalay.com. surely you fall in love.  Tengku Ryo Riezqan born in Medan, Indonesia is active in promoting Melayu Deli music particularly Zapin.  He plays violin as the main instrument with his back up band ‘the Malay’.  You will never get bored with his tune, as a matter of  fact, he has more fans outside the Malay archiepelago.  I wonder if he has established himself in Malaysia, but nevertheless, Tengku Ryo has his own followers all over the world.

About Tengku Ryo

Tengku Ryo Riezqan..,call me ‘Ryo’.I love all about violin n people who can play it,I have specific influences from my ancient culture ‘Melayu Deli’,the center of North Sumatera.But I love n learn many style until now,from gypsi to jazz,but most of all..I love something in tradition approach. Pablo de Sarasate,Roby Lakatos,Stephane Grappelli,Jean Luc Ponty,L.Shankar,L.Subramaniam,Ravi Shankar,Hazrat Inayat Khan,Itzhak Perlman,Yehudi Menuhin,Mark o’connor,Eddie Calvert,Jhon McLaughlin,John William,Sting,Elvis Presley,Idris Sardi,Said Effendi,P.Ramlee..are some great artist who Inspire me much. I’m working some music at the present with my best friend Viky Sianipar,a very talented arranger.Check on http://www.vikysianipar.com. We are concern for Indonesian heritage,specially the music. So..I invite all of you to share all about music n be my friend…

Tengku Ryo

Member Since

25/09/2006

Band Website

themalay.com

Influences

Malay music n other traditional music,classical,jazz,etc.Itshak Perlman,Robi Lakatos,Ravi Shankar,Hazrat ‘the sufi’ Inayat Khan.

Sounds Like

Melayu

Record Label

MSPro

Type of Label

Indie

Taken from his official website www.malay.com and his myspace website.

UPDATE!!!

27th Feb 09

Tengku Ryo dan The Malay Band dalam acara Milad ke-2 MelayoOnline.com di Taman Budaya Yogyakarta (TBY) 20 Januari 2009

_________________________________________________________________________________________

What does GM wish for Tengku Ryo?

  • You are getting popular worldwide, your music is much appreciated by world class musician, therefore just a matter of time, you will at par with the others.  GM wish  that Tengku Ryo and his fabulous band ‘the Malay’ are always deeprooted in your culture and in your iman.
  • For Tengku Ryo to get marry soon to be blessed with beautiful children who will follow your footstep, so that my grandchildren can see you in your children.
  • For Tengku Ryo to accept my GM invitation to perform in Malaysia this year.

by peacebuy

7th February 2009

Filed under: Artists Movies n Entertainment, Poetry Songs n Lyrics, , ,

One Response

  1. jimmy wijaya says:

    Tengku ryo is my best brother and my violin inspiration, I met him for the first time @ riau hitam putih 2008 @ pekanbaru!!
    Keep on forward my brother!!!

Leave a Reply

Archives

'Sireh Pulang ke Ganggang'

  • 64,459 helai daun sireh
